Gernot Rohr names Nigeria’s 28-man squad for Poland and Serbia Friendlies


Nigeria are schedule to play two friendly matches this month in preparation of the FIFA World Cup this summer. 28 senior players have been selected by Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr for the upcoming friendly games.

Nigeria will play against Poland on March 23 in Poznan, Poland while the match against Serbia will be on March 27 in London.

Goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Stephen Eze and Gabriel Okechukwu, The trio were instrumental in Nigeria’s run to the finals of the African Nations Championship which was held in Morocco. Joel Obi who plays for Torino FC in Italy is now back for Nigeria,  the last time Obi was invited to the team was back in 2015.

Also Junior Ajayi who plays for Al Ahly in Egypt makes the list. The 22 years old has scored 17 goals for his Egyptian club this season. CSKA Moscow striker Ahmed Musa who isn’t in his best form this season, also managed to make the list. After his move to Leicester City, Musa couldn’t start a single premier league game and was sent back to Russia during the January transfer window.

The Full 28-man squad:


Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa).


Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, The Netherlands); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England); Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium); Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria); William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey).


Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy); John Obi Mikel (Tianjin Teda, China); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium).


Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Gabriel Okechukwu (Akwa United); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium).

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *